Meethi Tikya

What an absurd title for a blog post…isn’t it? At least it might seem like it if you have read my posts seven years ago :p

So anyway, I spoke with 2-3 of my friends from my blogging days and they all told me I should be blogging again. So Ithought about it and decided not to blog as currently I’m ‘too busy’ and have my ‘hands full’ with other more important stuff. But then I thought that seven years ago, I was quite busy too in my life too but I still made it a point to blog 3-4 times a  week. I can totally do 1-2 posts every week now. So after a hiatus of almost two years, here is another post.

So yea, this post is about the lovely snack meethi Tikya. I have beautiful childhood memories of this mouthwatering snack. My Nani used to make it us quite often. And today I decided to make it for my fussy kids hoping that they would eat a little.

Recipe:

Take 3/4 cup milk in a pan and heat with 1 cup sugar till all the sugar dissolves. Then add 4 table spoons of butter and melt it probably. In a separate bowl take 2 cups white flour and 1/4 cup sooji kneed it using the milk mixture. The dough should not be too soft or runny. Leave the dough to rest for 1-2 hours. Then roll it thick (around a 1/4 inch) with a rolling pin and cut using your favorite cookie cutter. Deep fry till golden brown.

Enjoy with milk or tea 🙂

DSC_0473

2 thoughts on “Meethi Tikya

Leave a Reply

