Be a Pen Pal (1)

Remember the time when we used to write? No, not writing texts with our thumbs on our phones, but when we actually sat down on a chair with a writing pad on the desk, with a pen in our hand?It was a long long time ago, I know.

I still remember doing that.

When I was 13, one of my friends, who used to be really close at that time, moved from Abu Dhabi (where we used to live) to Canada. That seemed like such a difficult time because talking to her on the phone literally everyday had become a daily ritual, although we met at school every day too. Writing letters to each other was the only solution we could think of. You know, it after all has never been easy being a teenager and there is just always so much to tell! ๐Ÿ˜› So for the next several years, we were pen pals. We actually wrote letters to each other, really long ones, whenever we could and it was just awesome. I just loved the whole process: from writing the letter to posting it, waiting for the reply and then actually getting it. It was a long long process and I am sure the younger generation (makes me feel really old :P) does not even know how it is done. They just know that it takes less than 10 seconds to send a message across through email.

With time, we got all techy too.We had our computers and internet connections. And we started writing emails to each other. And somehow, it lost all charm with the advent of social networking sites like Orkut and Facebook. We know what is happening in each other’s lives through status updates and photo sharing but we hardly talk now. You know, the heart to heart talk that we just loved to have. Now I dont even know her any more. She is just another name on my friends’ list.

 

5 thoughts on “Be a Pen Pal (1)”

  1. i seriously miss that time wen i used to post cards and letters n wen get the chance also call the recipients n ask whether they’ve got it or not ๐Ÿ˜€
    even now the sight of the post office near my house prompts me to post something ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. ahh you made me think of one of my friends too. She was my best friend at 9th grade. Her family moved from Karachi to Lahore. She had somehow a hand in making my urdu good too ๐Ÿ™‚
    We got admitted in different colleges later on and could not keep in touch. But we used to write letters to each other ๐Ÿ™‚ . I had a complete collection of her letters. Our letters were better called novels. These had everything in it; daily routines, gossips, poetry, discussions on dramas, fights, advices, suggestions. and what not. Then they and we also changed our house and lost the connection. I still feel sorry and miss her so much ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    You are right the new latest taza taza generation has no idea how much exciting it is to write a letter and receive a reply. Because my sister is married in an other city, We used to exchange letters too. In one of her letters, she wrote about my then few months old niece’s babbling and crawling. The letter was fascinating for me. I showed that letter to my niece few months back and got disappointed when she showed no interest in it. Generations change, interests changes….

  3. Oh wow, seems like we all had our letter-writing moments, one of my best friend moved to karachi in class 9. For years on the only way of comm unication between us was letters. I think the smallest letter we wrote to each other would be of 4 sheet papers. (remember the sheets of papers for exams?) usually it’d be like 12-15 page digest. Everyone in my family used to make fun of us but thats how things went until uni days. Then after matric we friends got divided between two colleges, so we’d write letters to each other detailing all the gossips, movies and what not. Our letter sending pigeon was one of my friend’s sis.

    My letters were a treasure to me … sometimes I would take out the old ones and be amused at the way we’ve matured over the years. Life was beautiful then when we had time to write letters and cared enough. It seems like everyone is so busy and engrossed in their lives, you really have to wait until someone comes online and is free enough to skype for a heart-to-heart.

  4. You brought back great memories of letter writing :’-)

    The excitement from buying the stamps to writing them and posting it… Wow. I really miss that!

  5. Oh wow…it looks like I am not the only one who misses those old simple times!

    @casperquest
    i know! we used to write letters to my nani also, she lived in karachi while we lived in abu dhabi baq then…but they were written literally by the whole family and then we would start asking her the very next day if she received it ๐Ÿ˜›

    @ sophi & asma
    ah those were the days…nostalgia! i wish we could somehow teach this to our younger ones…seems near to impossible. my 17 month old already plays on tablet! i dont think she would be interested in writing letters every, that would seem so boring to her.

    @ leymoon
    oh yes, and then going to the post office to post and checking the mailbox every now and then to chck for the reply! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

