Why, oh why? [Women and prayer obligation, Pakistani perspective]

You might like to read this first.
While women are expected to not enter the masjid at all, even if it is to enhance her knowldge of Islam, in Pakistan, most families would expect the women to carry the heavy burden of praying for the whole family. Now what the hell is that supposed to mean? I mean, people actually expect women to keep the man’s honour safeguarded between her legs, serve the in-laws, do the household chores like japanese robots and also pray on everyone else’s behalf too? And, dont think I am talking about uneducated people. I am talking about very sensible looking educated seeminly religious people….or the moderates as we would like to call them.

I will leave the rest of the issues but I will surely want to talk about women being expected to pray on the behalf of men in the family. I seriously didnt have much first hand experience of this till I got pregnant when everyone, literally everyone, started telling me things to read for a healthy baby. Someone told me that I should recite a particular name of Allah everyday a specific number of times every day to ensure safety of the foetus. She told me this several times, not just once. So i thought of looking up in various books and see how it has to be done. Interestingly, it was something that a man is supposed to do every morning after fajr prayer once his wife is pregnant. When I told this to the ‘mashwara khanum’, she just said, “men dont have to do wat women can take care of.” Wow, thats interesting.

Then obviously, there were people constantly telling me to pray for my husband’s health and financial gains. Not that I dont do that myself, I do and I will even if no one tells me to do it….I wonder why no one has ever told my husband to pray for my health and well being. And by that I am not even saying that my husband doesnt want to see me healthy. Obviously, he wants me to be healthy because having a healthy wife at home can give men peace of mind. But where does it say that women are ‘expected’ to pray more regularly? I always thought that gender does not play a role in front of Allah

3 thoughts on “Why, oh why? [Women and prayer obligation, Pakistani perspective]”

  1. Even if any family goes under the financial crisis, the khaatoon-e-khaana is always advised to pray for her husband(by her husband) even if her husband does not know the namaz timings..

Leave a Reply

