Coming of age

Image Source

So here I am, celebrating my third blogoversary. As I started off from a different blog, I celebrate the day I started blogging rather than the day I started this particular blog.

Anyway, life has changed drastically for me over these past three years and so has my blogging. The reason I started blogging was not something that made me continue blogging. I have repeated quite a lot of times why I started blogging and wat kept me going initially but it changed over time. Soon it was about the number of visitors, the number of subscribers, the number of comments. I dont blog for those reasons anymore. I dont blog for stats any more or to get insane number of comments that I once used to get for the controversial posts that I started doing. I have learned to blog for myself.

But what is it that has kept me hooked to this even then. I mean being the person that I am, I tend to get bored quite easily but why am I still blogging after 3 years. A question that I asked myself today when I saw the Blogoversary badge on my other blog.

And the more I think about it, the more I get convinced that surprisingly, no matter what I might think, the reason is once again pretty much what I started blogging for. It changed in between when I got obsessed with stats. But now, I have come to the point where I started: to talk about things that matter to me, regardless of what they mean for others, regardless of how many people read it, regardless of how many people care to leave comments; I am just happy to have an outlet for my feelings to share with the small but loyal readers’ base and with complete strangers who stumble upon my blog.

At the end of the day, I guess I just want to be heard, even if it is by a small group of people and in doing that I want to be a part of the people who dare to be heard. I dont want to be a celebrity blogger, just someone with a voice.

13 thoughts on “Coming of age”

  1. i ve quit bloggin in my old space and the new one isnt too popular with people – i guess i m withdrawing from all worlds – glad you are celebrating a moment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. @ shermeen and nadia
    thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ AD
    i have no clue where u are blogging now…i am completely lost these days

    @ Pinky
    and it is people like you who i feel lucky to know ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I think when you’ve got a loyal group of readers you blog for them and yourself and that’s not so bad.

    Stats are completely overrated. People come to my blog looking for n*ked pictures of Shah Rukh Khan and Atif Aslam and p*rnographic sh*t related to abayas.

    True story. Sigh.

  4. hey congrats ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am building a mausoleum of bloggers for all those who just dont feel the urge to blog anymore. you can blog there :p
    And yes you will have to donate Rs. 10 for me to do a special blogger dua. I am an economies-of-scale-kinda peer.

  5. This is my first time here! And boy am I lucky to stumble upon it on your 3rd Blogoversary!!!

    To many more, insyallah!

    p.s// A Singaporean here! Maybe we could meet up for tea or sth ;-D

  6. Happy Blogoversary, congratulations on getting your voice heard for 3 years. I still haven’t reached my first yet, but hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

