Getting back to normalcy

It actually makes me feel better that both Hira and Minerva are pretty much going through the same emotional transition as me even though we are living in 3 different countries in completely different circumstances. The only thing that we have in common is that we all got married last year.

Being married changes pretty much everything in your life…including your name in most cases and thus your identity as a person in the society. The roles change dramatically and all of a sudden you are required to be the perfect housewife who cooks, cleans and looks good too. Your own life takes the backseat and the biggest dream of your life goes down the priority list….perhaps vanishes. Not because you are being forced by anyone but that is something that you just dont find the most important thing in your life anymore. You just want to be sure that your family life doesnt suffer and you make all the compromises you can think of. Alhamdulillah my husband is being very supportive and patient in this regard, he is definitely trying his best helping me adjust, while he is adjusting himself.

I am sure men make a lot of compromises too. Their responsibilities, especially financially, increase and they have to learn to ‘save up’ for the family that they have now and will have. Obviously they have the advantage of continuing their job in the same working environment, living in the same house and not carrying babies within themselves for 9 months. And thus, perhaps, do not have to face a lot of emotional transitions as newly wedded women.

I know this is a type of post that doesnt belong to this blog as such but I guess I would do it here because I realized its not as personal as I thought it was. All newly wedded women feel pretty much the same way as me. So, for now, I’l just try to settle in my new lifestyle but I seriously need to keep myself busy. Getting a job mite help perhaps.

13 thoughts on “Getting back to normalcy”

  1. I don’t know what to say. 😐
    Maybe 6 years from now I’ll feel the same and then I’ll come back, read this post again, and comment. I’ll have a lot to say by then. :$

  2. πŸ™‚ Sounds sooo familiar. When sis the priss got married, she had this huge change in schedule :D.. she had been a regular 8 am get-upper …(come rain or shine :D).. and ha! All of THAT changed πŸ˜€

    The first few months are (I think) always spent settling in .. and getting one’s bearings. I bet its a little more tough in your case, because you’re in a different country. But good managers do settle their bills with time and manage to make a nice career (even if its home-based) or part time..

    Good luck and prayers πŸ™‚

  3. @ Minerva
    yea, thats wat i am hoping

    @ Specs
    πŸ™‚

    @ Huda
    Or Insha Allah u will settle in your new lifestyle in a much better way than us an cope with it much more easily…u have us for all the advices, suggestions and support πŸ™‚

    @ Uni
    my timetable has changed completely. i still cant believe i am doing things which I never imagined myself doing. thats wat marriage does to you πŸ˜›

  4. I must say I’ve found many female bloggers penning about this emotional transition(and none of the males yet :P). That’s possibly because things change lot more for women than men after marriage.
    Anyway, best of luck with the new life. InshaAllah, things would be lot better eventually. We all take out times with changes πŸ™‚

  5. @ qa
    trust me, u are lucky on that front. wen u get married and pass through this transitional phase, u can come back to our blogs, read our posts and feel better for not being the only one going through this phase πŸ˜€

    @ Hira
    i know!

    @ Salman
    thanks a lot Salman

Leave a Reply

