How i came to love the veil?

POLITICIANS AND JOURNALISTS just love to write about the oppression of women in Islam … without even talking to the females beneath the veil.

They simply have no idea how Muslim women are protected and respected within the Islamic framework which was built more than 1400 years ago.

Yet, by writing about cultural issues like child brides, female circumcision, honor killings and forced marriages they wrongly believe they are coming from a point of knowledge.

And I am sick of Saudi Arabia being cited ……….( for more you can click here)

the above article is authored by Yvonne Ridley whose brief introduction is as follows

British-born, award-winning journalist Yvonne Ridley is well known in the Muslim world for her outspoken views and defence of Islam. She endeared herself to the Muslim community in Britain when she reverted to Islam 30 months after making international headlines when she was captured by the Taleban on an undercover assignment in Afghanistan. She was a senior reporter of the Sunday Express at the time, having spent nearly 10 years in Fleet Street working for several prestige titles including The Sunday Times, The Observer, Daily Mirror and Independent

26 thoughts on “How i came to love the veil?”

  1. Excellent article, I really like Yvonne ridley and she is right in so many ways. I’ve come across so many people who have such silly stereotypes about Hijabi/Niqaabi Women. And usually these Non-Muslims [Or even Muslims] haven’t ever spoken to someone who covers in the first place. I’ve had Women asking me if I was covering because of my Parents or if I didn’t feel like walking out all decked up without hijab, following the latest fashions.

    I do follow the latest fashions! Just inside the house, lol. [And with the girls]. And I’m more strict when it comes to religion compared to my parents. Anyway, this is what happend when people the media like blind followers.

    I always tell them, just go and ask a Hijabi Women if you have any doubts. I prefer them to come and speak to ME about what I’m doing/wearing and the reasons behind it compared to getting stupid information off the very biased media.

    And I just wanted to say, I love the Veil. πŸ˜‰

  2. @ purple
    i can totally understand why non-muslims might be curious but i just hate it wen the so called moderate muslisms ask stupid questions regarding the hijab.

    @ farooq
    kabhi kabhi main hmmm
    kabhi yeh sochta hoon
    kuch na kuch kahoon
    phir yeh sochta hoon
    kion na chup rahoon πŸ˜‰

  3. Upon seeing the brutality with which farooqks perfectly sensible comment was slaughtered, I’d keep my idioticity to myself πŸ˜›

    You know what, more women (and men too) should be thinking that way. I mean, every time I visit Karachi now, I see more and more uryanitay (?) than before, coupled with an even higher level of artificiality. It is downright depressing!

  4. KV: Yep, sad isn’t it? I think ever Hijabi who opts to start covering has to face the above, but hey it strengthens in a way.

    It’s surprising the lengths some people go to convince you that it’s *okay* to take your Hijab off at events, especially Aunties[Like Weddings]. :S And it’s worse when they’re not even related to you, they should mind their own business.

    This is one of the reasons I would hesitate about visiting Karachi, lol. But alhamdulilah, only the beginning is tough, they’re pretty much used to it by now, but oh the stories I have! πŸ˜›

  5. The problem with us humans is that if we tend to over think things which inadvertently makes us obsessed with them, which in turn leads to zealotry and extremism. Both extremes are condemned in Islam especially if they are imposed onto others.

    If the right path was so easy, everyone would be doing it and then there would be no need for a heaven and hell, and no need to have a universe at all. The universe has two very intrinsic properties called entropy and equilibrium. The universe will always guide itself to an equilibrium. However as per entropy, that equilibrium is always deteriorating towards the one side which is bad. thus to maintain that equilibrium, one must constantly apply force. These properties and there manifestations should guide us to believe only one fact, that ‘there are always shades of gray’ and that extremism cannot survive forever.

    Hijab or no hijab, again there is Saudi Arab and then there are us, which are two extremes (More or less). The trick is to find an equilibrium. Covering The face and eyes and every other thing is a bit extreme (taqwa as oppose to equillibrium may say for someones percpective to go to extreme.) and so is wearing see through clothes (although I m not complain to those who do) which makes life difficult to live. Aytadal is the word which is at the core of every belief of Islam, which is the only thing which differentiates it from any other religion in the world and makes it practical and easy to implement.

    The only hindrance are these taunts and teases by the world, which is our test of faith.

    I m making no sense now so I should shut up.

  6. @ farooq & Absar
    well i think farooq knows by now that I have completely lost it…but then how would i lose something which I basically never had πŸ˜›

    khair as for Absar’s comment on uriyani in pakistan. ummmmm….its taken as progress, women’s liberation and enlightened moderation.

    @ purple
    I personally hate telling others how they should dress up and I simply hate it wen someone does that to me. Its been more than two years since I have been wearing the hijab and I still get stared at wen I do not take my hijab off at weddings….from practically everyone. The worse is even the women who take a niqab otherwise would try to convince you that its OK to take your hijab off on certain occassions especially if it helps you find a rishta for urself!

    @ Safiullah
    hehehe
    no u were making sense. i just have an objection wen someone tries to impose their ideas of islam on me…khud ko ager kuch bhi nahi pehanna tou na pehnein, just lemme do my own thing

  7. @karachiwali

    lol ab khud ki take?!!!

    wese i find this whole take your hijab off scene at weddings pretty hypocritical, we are probably among the strangest of societies out there… :S

  8. Saifullah, I agree with there being a middle point, but what I don’t agree with is that covering the face, IE: the Niqaab is considered to be extreme.

    This was actually a practice done by the Wives of the Prophet sallalahu alayhi wasallam and some Ulema actually consider it to be fardh while others say it is mustahabb [Recommended]. But, at the very least, it is actually a Sunnah if one does not think it is compulsory. And we all know the immense reward for those who revive or implement a Sunnah.

    My Sister wears the head Saudi Abaya and she is a permanent Niqaabi, as in she is very strict about it, she also wears gloves. I started covering my face too some time back, I’m not as strict with it. However, I feel for myself it is the right thing to do and it’s my *decision*.

    A lot of people think it is extreme, but if there is daleel found in the QurΓ‘n and Sunnah for it, islamically, it can’t be considered extreme.

    Wa Allahu Aalam.

    So in the end, it depends on how we ‘define’ extreme. If we define it according to Wordly standards or Islamic standards. The definition then would differ drastically.

    [I hope the above made sense too! :P]

  9. hey abssar…i totally disagree with u on the fact that “uryanitay” has increased…its just that you are visiting or looking at the wrong place.

    @purple.
    If are at someone’s wedding and there is an aunty too….then this mean she is related to u from some where or else she wouldn’t be there….:)

  10. @Saffi: Hehe, yar.. is a certain MSc Physics rubbing off on you? πŸ˜‰

    @Awais: πŸ™‚ Your point of view man, but I’m visiting the same places I’ve always been to, and I find it difficult to believe that you don’t see it πŸ™‚

  11. lol, well thats true in a way, but not always. A lot of aunties come to weddings who aren’t related to you. But yeah, mostly you’re right, the ones who actually talk, are the one who’r usually related [far-off relations].

  12. @ Awais and Absar
    uryani on the whole has gone up to a great extent in pakistan…watch pakistani tv channels, u hardly see girls fully covered anymore

    @ purple
    i know the ‘irritating’ aunties who actually have to give advises even wen they arent asked to

  13. We should form a coalition against aunties! πŸ˜›

    In all honestly, they scare me sometimes. I hate dealing with them. What I get double pissed about is when they aren’t covering and have all sorts of comments for you if you are.

    I wear the Abaya everywhere here, but I just started wearing it in karachi last year. And by that, I mean even at weddings. So you could probably imagine what must’ve happened, lol. Uffff.

    Sorry for sounding dumb, but whats ‘uryani’?

    Also, there is actually an Islamic revival through out the whole world, especially with young people, and Id like to add last time I was in Pakistan, I saw quite a few girls from all types of backgrounds adopting Hijab, which I wouldn’t see before.

  14. The aunties are not the problem. The problems are the uncles that surround the aunties. Taaru kahin ke.
    Thing is, wearing a hijaab is a really hard thing to do.And anyone who tries, be it a proper nikaab, or just a head scarf deserves to be respected. I get comments like “why have you wrapped a towel round your head?” and ” tum tau ganji ho” but i know i’m doing this because it’s Allah’s command .Plus i get the satisfaction of damning the taunters to hell πŸ˜€

  15. @ purple
    uryani is vulgarity…i know a lot of the young people are trying to study islam more than their older generations but wat i see now is the polorization of the two extremes, sadly, moderation is becoming a rarity: you mostly come across the ones for whom ‘everything is haram’ or the ones for whom ‘everything is halal’

    @ Hira
    lol….but the comments do get irritating at times and yes a lot of the effort goes into wearing a hijab, its not as easy as it may seem.

  16. ^yeah man… i am a guy and when i see man staring at burqa clad women i find it really cheap and funny at the same time i mean what’s there to stare in a burqa clad woman i guess they use their imaginative skills πŸ˜›

  17. Uhh, Men will be men. The Hijab is the last thing that stops Muslim guys from looking, especially in Countries where it becomes the norm [The Hijab], so it stops scaring them away.

    Heck, I got followed once in a niqaab in a supermarket. It was an awful experience.

  18. @ saad
    im sure its the imagination only that works wonders πŸ˜‰

    @ farooq
    tum uncle kab sey ho gaye? πŸ˜› the uncles are far more taaru than guys of your age

    @ purple
    god that is so cheap…i mean even if niqaab is not stopping the guys from following a girl, then wat is she supposed to do!

Leave a Reply

