Phew….being filthy rich is difficult!

Saadat and Mahwash both have tagged me and this one’s tough. I mean maintaining one would be more than enough for me…eight’s way too much. This has definitely made me think very differently as I dont really think that if I had the chance of having 8 homes, I would have wanted all of them to be in one single country. But as per the rules, all of them had to be in Pakistan. 

The McCains own 13 cars, eight homes and have access to a corporate jet. If you were as insanely rich as them, where would your eight homes be and why?

The only rule is: The homes must be within the borders of the country you live in, so as to utterly emulate the McCains.

When you’re done, tag 8 people, so that they may join in the self-indulgence, forgetting about the crappy property market and the equivalent of The End of Pompeii on Wall-Street.

So here it goes… 

Shehr-e-Quaid: Karachi, Ofcourse! For me Karachi is literally the whole of Pakistan 😛 Its the city which is home to people as varied as Edhi, Nazia Hassan, Pervez Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz. Its cosmopolitan, resilient, drives the country’s economy and above all it is the city by the sea.

Lahore: The only city in Pakistan that can come close to Karachi, ofcourse minus the sea. But obviously, Karachi is wayyyy better 😛 I like the old city more than the new one: laid back and relaxed. Its very sad that the city is rapidly losing its cultural identity and if I could, I would love to have a house which would emulate the 11th Century Houses of the Walled City of Lahore.

Islamabad: A natural choice I guess. I wouldnt mind going to Pir Sohawa over the weekends for meditation.

Multan: A weird choice? Well, It was visited by Alexander the Great in the 5th century and conquered by Mohammad bin Qasim just two centuries later. It is thevcity of heat, saints and dust, the oldest living city in Pakistan which I would love to explore.

Bhurban: Need a reason? Its a small town and is usually not as crowded as Murree. Just a few kilometers away from Islamabad and its literally heaven on Earth. Would love to have a luxury apartment there 🙂

Gwadar: The only city other than Karachi which can boast to have a port. For me, the idea of living in a city by the sea would suffice. 

Mirpur: Not Mirpur Khas in interior Sindh, Mirpur in Azad Kashmir. It would be like living in the UK 😉 I have never been to Mirpur myself but Ive heard they actually deal in pounds rather than in rupees!

Balakot: Completely devastated by the Earthquake in 2005, but its getting back on its feet now….without much help from the government. I would love to have a house in the ‘new’ Balakot which is not on the earthquake belt.

I am tagging Anas, Absar, purple, safiullah and kurri. Mitali, i am tagging you too, it should get you back to blogging 🙂

10 thoughts on “Phew….being filthy rich is difficult!”

  1. Sea??? What Sea??? Believe me lady!!! These is no sea in Karachi whatsoever!!!!

    However we do have a puddle of shit (and trash) somewhere around Native Jetty and West Wharf. Now my old office had a sea… it was way past hub in B’stan and It was awesome… Sandy beach and blue sea with a bright blue sky… minus the girls in bikinis of course.

  2. loll I’ve been to lahore once in my life, it was for about two weeks, and i loved the houses!! especially the red brick ones, mashallah.

    haha, I’ve heard mirpur is filled with people into sufism, commiting shirk and bidah. 😛 But azad kashmir is gorgeous, i was there for about three/four days in 2006 when we went for a tour of Pakistan.

    Annnd hopefully ill get around to doing this tag. 😛 Can I change it around a bit, and make countries? 😛

  3. @ Safiullah
    we have a sea which is at par with what people enjoy in places like Swansea!

    @ purple
    oh the red brick houses in lahore are just lovely.
    and as for changing it a bit, ummmmmm, can u limit it to two countries at max?

    @ Mahwash
    🙂 i have always been fascinated by Multan for some reason

    @ Absar
    another tag!

    @ kurri
    waiting! 🙂

    @ Saadat
    oh i know, wat a great loss it was!

  4. thats the problem, we jst dont care about everything that Allah (SWT) has given us. The sea is an amzing gift of nature and we have been neglecting it all along…

Leave a Reply

