Names

I was just reading Saadat’s nicknames when I thought of all the weird names that have been given to me over the years. i do not exactly have a lot of them but I have possibly some of the most stupid nicknames.

  • I dont know why half my family still calls me gudiya!!! for heaven’s sake, im well in my mid 20s, and please dont tell me that I look like one cuz I dont!
  • My elder brother calls me Ro obviously derived from my name: Rosheena.
  • A lot of my younger cousins call me deedee, dee or simply D.
  • Richa calls me Reea. Thats pretty much the ‘shorter version’ of my name.
  • Some of my closest friends call me Leena which was a name given to me at birth. Its still there on my birth certificate. It also has variations like Leenu and even Loony πŸ˜›

With one of the most uncommon names in Pakistan, people do end up mispronouncing my name and the most common ones are Rubina, Rubila, Shakira and Shakeela. I dont particularly like any of them but then there isnt much that I can do about it!

10 thoughts on “Names”

  1. “Ro” is a cool nickname to have. Much cooler than “gurriya“! (There was a guy who was our neighbour once, and his nickname was “munna” — nobody knew about it until one day when her elder sister called him from their home’s window. Luckily for him, they moved soon after that.)

    By the way, Cheetara and Chun-Li? So you have a sixth sense and are the world’s strongest woman?! πŸ˜€

    As for mispronunciations, I can totally relate!

  2. there’s a ‘baby baji’ in my family who has 6 kids(i think) and is as big as a bulldozer! πŸ˜‰

    Leena is a funny name, ill give u that πŸ˜›

  3. @ Saadat
    Lucky him! my family calls me gudiya in front of everyone!!
    as for cheetara and chun-li..that wasnt cuz of my 6th sense or being strong enough, but it was cuz of me always being part of everything that was a lil unusual and would normally end up in a fight πŸ˜›

    @ farooqk
    hehe…thankfully im not as big as a bulldozer. in fact, im quite petite. I wouldnt mind being called Leena waise πŸ™‚

  4. Gurriya is a common nickname, one of my aunts also inherited it and now the kids call her Gurriya Khala/Phuppi. Similarly, ‘Baby’ is quite common (atleast in my circle).

    I never acquired a nickname myself but my elder sister, whom I call Aapi, is now called Aapi by all the elders and the young ones (including the nephews and nieces) πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.